Menu

Health versus Wealth? Tax and Transparency in the Age of COVID-19

May 12th, 2020

The Financial Transparency Coalition (FTC), The Independent Commission for Reform of International Corporate Taxation (ICRICT), Oxfam and Public Services International (PSI) are pleased to invite you to a Virtual Event followed by a Press Conference

Register & view the event here

Health versus Wealth?

Tax and Transparency in the Age of COVID-19

The event will be held in English with subtitles in French and Spanish

Thursday 28th May 2020, 13.00 – 15.30 (Coordinated Universal Time)

Lima 8 a.m., Washington DC 9 a.m., Buenos Aires 10 a.m., London 2 p.m., Brussels 3 p.m., Nairobi 4 p.m., New Delhi 6.30 p.m., Manila 9 p.m.

Amidst an unprecedented global health and economic crisis, policy makers are adjusting to the resource challenges looming over the global economy. In the Global North and South, the powers of government are being tested to preserve health and livelihoods at all costs. These costs will be immense and are already constraining how policy makers are able to respond. An expert discussion will consider how to prioritize and identify the reforms and policy innovations on tax and transparency that can secure greater revenue or at least ensure less is lost to secrecy and abuse. Examining both concentrations of wealth and corporate revenues, speakers will review the potential of proposed reforms.

Speakers include:

    • Jayati Ghosh ICRICT, Jawaharlal Nehru University
    • Rosa Pavanelli General Secretary – Public Services International-PSI
    • Professor Allison Christians McGill University
    • Logan Wort African Tax Administration Forum
    • Rajat Bansal Department of Revenue, India
    • Wayne Swan ICRICT, Former Finance Minister and Deputy Prime Minister of Australia
    • Professor Susan Rose-Ackerman Yale Law School
    • Professor Ingrid Woolard, Stellenbosch University, South Africa
    • Neeti Biyani, Centre for Budget and Governance Accountability, FTC member
    • Hakin Hamadi, Global Forum, OECD
    • Marilou Uy, Group of 24, G24
    • Alex Cobham Tax Justice Network, FTC member
    • Samuel V. Makwe Permanent Mission of Nigeria to the United Nations

Agenda     Agenda SP

Register & view the event here

 

Blogs & Background Material

Health versus Wealth? The ‘measure’ of our responses to COVID-19, Sakshi Rai, CBGA

Trade Integrity to Fight COVID-19, Tom Cardamone, GFI

‘COVID-19 Bailouts’: The great corporate rescue at any price? Neeti Biyani, CBGA and Alvic Padilla, Christian Aid

Deuda y Fuga: Que el endeudamiento por la pandemia no termine engrosando la fuga de capitales, Latindadd

How to pay for a pandemic? Tax the unearned profits, Alex Cobham, Tax Justice Network

Covid-19 and the Response that’s needed, Financial Transparency Coalition

Media Advisory    Elementos para la Prensa      Éléments pour la Presse

Press Release         Comunicado de Prensa        Communiqué de Presse

International Solidarity Shouldn’t End with COVID-19: We Must Deliver for All https://t.co/Rg0BvvNHrR
- Friday Jul 3 - 2:02pm

Follow @FinTrCo