Menu

Health versus Wealth? Tax and Transparency in the Age of COVID-19

Virtual Event

Thursday 28th May 2020, 13.00 – 15.30 (Coordinated Universal Time)

Conference

The Financial Transparency Coalition (FTC), The Independent Commission for Reform of International Corporate Taxation (ICRICT), Oxfam and Public Services International (PSI) are pleased to invite you to a virtual event followed by a Press Conference on Thursday 28th May 2020 (Lima 8 a.m., Washington DC 9 a.m., Buenos Aires 10 a.m., London 2 p.m., Brussels 3 p.m., Nairobi 4 p.m., New Delhi 6.30 p.m., Manila 9 p.m.)

For an expert discussion considering what policy makers must prioritize to manage the fiscal burden from COVID-19

Amidst an unprecedented global health and economic crisis, policy makers are adjusting to the resource challenges looming over the global economy. In the Global North and South, the powers of government are being tested to preserve health and livelihoods at all costs. These costs will be immense and are already constraining how policy makers are able to respond. An expert discussion will consider how to prioritise and identify the reforms and policy innovations on tax and transparency that can secure greater revenue or to ensure less is lost to secrecy and abuse. Examining both concentrations of wealth and corporate revenues, speakers will review the potential of proposed reforms, asking of each potential reform:

  • What is the potential for sufficient – in scale and urgency – resources?
  • What are the immediate priorities for raising or protecting revenue?
  • How to safeguard rights, and especially the needs, of the vulnerable?
  • How to ensure interventions are progressive and further gender equality?

Speakers to include:

  • Jayati Ghosh ICRICT, Jawaharlal Nehru University
  • Rosa Pavanelli General Secretary – Public Services International-PSI
  • Professor Allison Christians McGill University
  • Logan Wort African Tax Administration Forum
  • Rajat Bansal Department of Revenue, India
  • Wayne Swan ICRICT, Former Finance Minister and Deputy Prime Minister of Australia
  • Professor Susan Rose-Ackerman Yale Law School
  • Professor Ingrid Woolard, Stellenbosch University, South Africa
  • Neeti Biyani, Centre for Budget and Governance Accountability, India
  • Hakin Hamadi, Global Forum, OECD
  • Marilou Uy, Group of 24, G24
  • Alex Cobham Tax Justice Network, FTC member
  • Samuel V. Makwe Permanent Mission of Nigeria to the United Nations

Agenda

The event will be held in English with subtitles in French and Spanish

Register & view the event here.

 

For more information contact  ldiez@financialtransparency.org

 

RT @EU_Taxud: 📋Interested in tax matters and keen to do good? Take a look at our call for proposals to create a specialised, independent ob…
- Friday Aug 14 - 10:06am

Follow @FinTrCo